Peril at End House- Agatha Christie

“Poirot,” I said. “I have been thinking.”
“An admirable exercise my friend. Continue it.”

Poirot has retired. He scoffs when his friend tells him he should get back into investigating. He turns down a request to help an old friend with a case. He is not going to come out of retirement even if a mystery falls right into his lap. But on the other hand, he would never say never…

And then more dramatically than a case falling into his lap, a bullet lands right in front of him. He notices a hole in the hat of the pretty young owner of the place they are staying at consistent with a bullet hole, and learns she has had 3 near escapes from death in as many days. She is incredulous initially, but he convinces her that her life is in danger, and finds himself unable to stay in retirement any longer.

Most of my experience with Agatha Christie is from TV show- Poirot and Miss Marple, and then a fun Dr Who episode. I quite enjoy the shows, so I thought I would give the books a go. I had read one or two a few years ago, but being used to books that tell you what you are meant to know when you are meant to know it, I just read straight through… which I think decreased my enjoyment. This time I approached with an inquiring, analytical mindset- questioning what it would mean for my theories if this person was lying, or if that one was, what they might be hiding etc. The books are a relatively quick reads though, so you don’t have to spend too much time guessing- the reveal comes soon enough.

All in all it was an enjoyable read, and I look forward to reading more. You might like this if you like gentle mystery and detective novels, but not the scary/creepy thrillers.

Leave a Reply

