2017 Reading Challenges

For those of you who have been following me already, you probably know that I started this blog as part of a compulsion to complete two reading challenges I set for myself: to read a book written by an author from every country in the world, and to read a list of important or famous historical works.

After blogging for a while I noticed there were quite a few people doing other challenges, mostly time based ones (mine has no time limit as I estimate it will take several years). I was a bit sad that I started half way through the year so it was too late to join in, so today I have gone and found all the ones I can to sign up to for next year! I probably won’t be able to do all of them,  but thought we may as well try, and that you might like them too.

 

Flights of Fantasy Reading Challenge

  • Choose your own number of fantasy books to read in 2017
  • I aim to read: 10

Contemporary Romance Reading Challenge

  • Choose a level to aim for a certain number of contemporary romance books
  • I aim to reach: 1st Base: 1-5 books

Rock My TBR Challenge

  • Read at least one book per month that you have been meaning to read

2017 Diverse Reads Book Challenge

  • Read as many books as you can with diverse characters (different sexualities, religions, ethnicity, disability etc)

2017 Debut author Challenge

  • read 12 or more young adult books that are an author’s debut novel

What’s in A Name

  • A small scavenger hunt for books- read books that have certain things in their titles

52 Books in 52 Weeks

  • What it sounds like!

Netflix and Books Challenge

  • combine your love of TV and books- pair up books and shows that have things in common (themes, character names, settings)
  • tentative reading list: Pillars of the Earth, Fish of the Seto Inland Sea, the Book theif, the rosie project, outlander
  • tentative watching list: black adder, toast of london, the get down, north & south, the crown

Reading Challenge Addict

  • a challenge of doing lots of different reading challenges
  • I am not quite sure yet- but looks like I will be doing 6-10 challenges?

All About Austen

  • read/watch anything related to Austen- either her works or spin offs
  • Aim: Austen aficionado: read or watch 6 items

The European Reading Challenge

  • read a book, from or about as many different European countries as you can

Colour Coded Challenge

  • a book where the title contains, or the cover is, each colour

 

There is an even more extensive list here, that I recommend if you want to find more.

 

 

3 thoughts on “2017 Reading Challenges

Leave a Reply

