Books Before the Blog: A Christmas Carol

It’s time for the ‘A-Z challenge’- a post every day in April (except Sundays) working up through the alphabet. This year I will be writing about books that I read before I started this blog, that were important to me in some way. The vast majority are ones I still have on my bookshelf today, despite a move in house and sometimes many years since I first read it.


C

C is for Charles, Christmas and Carol
Book: A Christmas Carol by Charles Dickens

What is it about:
Ebenezer Scrooge is a tight-fisted, cynical, heartless man who thinks only of making money, at the expense of the people around him. His old business partners, the brothers Marley, have died and he has no friends. One Christmas eve, he is visited by three spirits- the ghost of Christmas past, Christmas present and Christmas future. They show him how he came to be as he is, what effects his actions are really having on those around him, and his bleak future if he continues as he is. It is a magical Christmas story of second chances.

When I first read this book:
My first experience of this book was when I was about seven or eight. I acted in a musical production of it. It was my first musical, and I played Fanny, Scrooge’s sister, and a few chorus parts. I also loved the Muppet’s Christmas Carol- it was my favourite Christmas movie, and still rates as one of the best today. I first read the book a couple years ago. The book itself would have to be my favourite Dickens’ book- probably just because it is the most readable.

Why it is important to me:
The timeless, magical Christmas story will always have a place in my Christmas celebrations.

Who should read it:
People who like nice, magical Christmas stories- the type of book you would read snuggled up by the fire with a hot chocolate.
People who like moral children’s stories.

5 thoughts on “Books Before the Blog: A Christmas Carol

  1. Jodie Humphrey says:

    I can’t say I’ve ever read A Christmas Carol. I’ve never actually had the desire to as my mum is obsessed with that story and always used to force me to watch at least 4 different versions of the tale every single Christmas. I’ve been kind of put off if I’m honest…

    Believe In Fairy Stories: Theme – Folklore & Fairy Tales

    Like

  2. Jaylee Morgan says:

    Ooh. Yes, the Christmas Carol. I’ve never read the book (I really need to) but my Grandma’s favorite version is the one with Patrick Steward in it, so we’ve watched it often. đŸ˜€

    Like

Leave a Reply

