Books Before the Blog: Change Your Thinking

It’s time for the ‘A-Z challenge’- a post every day in April (except Sundays) working up through the alphabet. This year I will be writing about books that I read before I started this blog, that were important to me in some way. The vast majority are ones I still have on my bookshelf today, despite a move in house and sometimes many years since I first read it.


E

E is for Edelman
Book: Change Your Thinking by Sarah Edelman

What is it about:
This book outlines basic CBT (cognitive behavioural therapy) principles, and then focuses on how they relate to various situations or mental health issues such as depression, anxiety, anger, self-esteem and communication.

When I first read this book:
In early university.

Why it is important to me:
I love psychology- I think it is one of the most underrated things modern man has every created. No matter how good your physical health, how rich, how many friends etc if you have unhelpful thought patterns and coping strategies, you will be unhappy. Psychology also helps you interact with the world and other people in a more positive way, increasing your change of getting those other things I mentioned (friends, stability etc).
I seriously think that everyone should be taught CBT, ACT (acceptance commitment therapy- look up mindfulness training for a simple version), and resilience/positive psychology techniques.
It is also important to me because I found it helpful in improving my own thought patterns when I was feeling down.

Who should read it:
Everyone.
This book is written by a clinical psychologist who is also a university lecturer and trainer. It is accurate and informative, but should be easy enough that most people can read and understand it.

6 thoughts on “Books Before the Blog: Change Your Thinking

  1. Cathy Kennedy says:

    I like the name of your blog. I often feel like an arm(less)chair exploring with my constant Internet research. I don’t know how I got this far in life without Google. đŸ™‚ The great mystery of the mind is something I totally do not understand, especially when someone faces mental challenges. My sister is bipolar and my daughter suffers from anxiety attacks. Sometimes I don’t know what to do to help them other than be their cheerleader. Thanks for the book review and insight on this subject. Also, I’m glad you stopped by for my newest edition of Art Sketching Through the Alphabet with the letter “E” (elephant, eagle, elk)! Have an electric day a2zing!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. XmasDolly says:

    Well, you’re gonna think I’m the biggest boob ever, but reading puts me to sleep unless I really, really like it like believe it or not I’m a Stephen King fan. I read the series the Gunslinger and that has seven books. HOLY COW for me. I also think Hiroshima kept me awake too. Go figure. I have so much respect for people who can and get to read. I wish I could. Oh well, thanks for sharing though and have a great day!

    Like

  3. Donna Smith says:

    You know, something led me to an online article recently that talked about the connection between probiotics and anxiety/depression. They’ve found there is a connection between the gut and the brain and that correcting the balance can work in alleviating some mental health problems. I found it to be extremely interesting! Do a search. Have fun!

    Thanks for you visit today!
    Donna Smith
    Mainely Write
    EVL TWN

    Like

Leave a Reply

