Books Before the Blog: Animaelia

It’s time for the ‘A-Z challenge’- a post every day in April (except Sundays) working up through the alphabet. This year I will be writing about books that I read before I started this blog, that were important to me in some way. The vast majority are ones I still have on my bookshelf today, despite a move in house and sometimes many years since I first read it.


GG is for Graham
Book: Animalia by Graham Base

What is it about:
Animalia is a beautifully illustrated picture book, which illustrates an unusual alliteration for an animal starting with each letter of the alphabet, starting with An Armoured Armadillo all the way to Zany Zebra’s Zigzagging in Zinc Zeppelins.

When I first read this book:
Sometime in childhood. We also had another picture book by him called the Eleventh hour, which was a mystery- you were meant to figure out who ate the birthday feast. I remembering having absolutely no idea how I was supposed to go about solving the mystery- and I rather want to find a copy to see if I can work it out now.

Why it is important to me:
The illustrations in these books were lovely, and I used to love spending time just looking at them.

Who should read it:
Children and adults alike, who like art, poems and animals.

3 thoughts on “Books Before the Blog: Animaelia

  1. Ros says:

    Animaelia is such a beautiful book, and so cleverly illustrated. I spent hours reading it as a child, finding new things to look at every time. Thanks for the memories, and for visiting my blog 🙂
    Ros from Fangirl Stitches

    Like

Leave a Reply

