Books Before the Blog: The Faraway Tree

It’s time for the ‘A-Z challenge’- a post every day in April (except Sundays) working up through the alphabet. This year I will be writing about books that I read before I started this blog, that were important to me in some way. The vast majority are ones I still have on my bookshelf today, despite a move in house and sometimes many years since I first read it.


F

F is for Faraway
Book: The Faraway Tree- Enid Blyton

What is it about:
Jo, Bess and Fanny move with their parents to the countryside, and discover a huge tree in the midst of a magic wood. They meet odd magical creatures like a pixie named Silky, Moon-face (who has a huge large round face) and the Sauce-pan man. There are many an adventure to be had.

When I first read this book:
When I was about 8, we moved house, which was rather fitting given the book starts with the children also moving house.

Why it is important to me:
Once I packed up my belongings, I didn’t really do much except ride back and forth in the car, and unpack my own things at the other end. This didn’t take me long, but the whole move took the family 3 days. In those three days I read the entire Faraway Tree Stories book, which is a compendium of three books in the series- the Enchanted Wood, the Magic Faraway Tree and the Folk of the Faraway Tree. That’s 559 pages, and I was very proud of my achievement.

I enjoyed Enid Blyton, and I liked that she had quite a lot of series. There is something about series that draws me more than stand alone books- I always want to collect them. For a little while I watched out for her books in op-shops, but one day I looked up her catalogue, and realised she had written hundreds of books, so even at only a few dollars each from the opshop- it would still take a lot of money (and bookshelf space).

Who should read it:
Children (I am not good at estimating ages that are appropriate but maybe from 6-10)
Those who want to reminisce about childhood books.

5 thoughts on “Books Before the Blog: The Faraway Tree

    • blikachuka says:

      I don’t think I have read that one! Keep an eye out in second hand stores- thats where I got most of mine, although that was ten years ago that I was collecting them

      Like

  1. Arti Jain says:

    I grew up on a diet of Enid Blyton in India and for a long time wondered why we never had any ginger ale at home when all the ‘famous five’ lot could drink it anytime they wanted. This was in the 70s when the only ‘foreign’ drinks we had access to were Cocal Cola and Fanta.
    Arti’smoments

    Like

Leave a Reply

