Books Before the Blog: The Bobbsey Twins

It’s time for the ‘A-Z challenge’- a post every day in April (except Sundays) working up through the alphabet. This year I will be writing about books that I read before I started this blog, that were important to me in some way. The vast majority are ones I still have on my bookshelf today, despite a move in house and sometimes many years since I first read it.


H

H is for Hope
The Bobbsey Twins by Laura Lee Hope

What is it about:
The Bobbsey twins are two sets of fraternal twins in the same family; Nan and Bert the older set, and Freddie and Flossie the younger set. They have wholesome adventures, at home, at school, while on holidays; and sometimes even find a mystery or two to solve. They are from an upper-middle class family in the early 1900s- the first book was written in 1904, and the series continued (written by various authors under the pseudonym of Laura Lee Hope) until 1979. There were 72 books originally. There have also since been some remakes and a new series.

When I first read this book:
When I was little, dad used to read to my sister and I in the evenings after we went to bed. I can’t remember if this happened every night, or just regularly while we were on a particular book or series. The two main books I remember dad reading was the Lion the Witch and the Wardrobe, by C.S. Lewis and the Bobbsey twins.
In late primary school I started to develop a love for collecting books- especially series. We already had several Bobbsey twins books, all with their thick brown spines. I did add a few to the collection, before discovering that they were not in fact all by the same author, which I felt was cheating a bit. It also got hard to remember which I had and which I didn’t.

Why it is important to me:
It is one of my main memories of dad reading to us.

Looking back at how it played a part in the beginning of my book collecting hobby, as well as the other main collection of Enid Blyton, it strikes me that both are old authors. I suspect that many people these days wouldn’t think to read their child a book from 1904. They would go for the newer, cooler books with prettier pictures and more modern stories. But these books and authors were a part of my reading journey, and I wonder if kids kind of miss out when we dismiss older, less cool books.

Who should read it:
Children
Nostalgic adults

5 thoughts on “Books Before the Blog: The Bobbsey Twins

  1. wittegenpress says:

    I have never heard of these adventurous children before, but they sound a lot like The Famous Five. I am making sure god children of mine and friends’ children all get a good dose of old stories. I start them on Beatrix Potter and now some of them are getting to an age where The Brothers Grimm and C S Lewis will be finding their way into their birthday presents đŸ™‚
    Sophie
    Sophie’s Thoughts & Fumbles – Dragon Diaries

    Liked by 1 person

  2. PhillipL says:

    I’ve heard of, but never read, the Bobbsey Twins. I had no idea there were so many books, or that they had different authors under the one pseudonym. I did grow up on Enid Blyton: Famous Five, the R mysteries etc. Blyton did a good job writing for boys and girls, I think.

    Phillip | H is for Homemade Envelopes

    Like

  3. Nick Wilford says:

    What a great old collection. I don’t know those books but we’re definitely getting our little girl into some great older books: the Little House series, The Secret Garden, as well as Enid Blyton’s school stories. Of course, that’s not to dismiss newer books. But it’s great to encourage reading widely.

    Like

Leave a Reply

