Books Before the Blog: Green Monkey Dreams

It’s time for the ‘A-Z challenge’- a post every day in April (except Sundays) working up through the alphabet. This year I will be writing about books that I read before I started this blog, that were important to me in some way. The vast majority are ones I still have on my bookshelf today, despite a move in house and sometimes many years since I first read it.


I

I is for Isabelle
Book: Green Monkey Dreams by Isabelle Carmody

What is it about:
Green Monkey Dreams is a collections of short stories, by Isabelle Carmody. They are on a variety of topics, but all with a bit of fantasy, and probably for the young-mid teenage group.

When I first read this book:
High school.

Why it is important to me:
I really wanted to put a book by Isabelle Carmody in here this month, as she was one of my favourite authors in high school. I have already posted about a couple of my favourites though. When thinking which book to write about, that would best fit my theme, I decided to go with Green Monkey dreams, because although I didn’t enjoy it as much as most of her novels, there were a few of the short stories that stuck with me. Yes, they stuck with me because I found an aspect of them a bit disturbing and didn’t like it, but it did make me think things- about the nature of reality and how we now if our understanding of it is correct.

Who should read it:
those who like young adult fantasy

7 thoughts on “Books Before the Blog: Green Monkey Dreams

  1. Maggie says:

    I feel like I’ve heard of this author although I’m not familiar with her work – sounds interesting though! I have morbid curiosity, so if her writing is at all disturbing, I may need to check it out! LOL! đŸ˜€

    Like

  2. Denise says:

    Not an author I am familiar with, but I love short stories. I like that when I am in a time crunch, I can read them and not be kept in suspense for 300 pages.

    Like

Leave a Reply

