Books Before the Blog: Harry Potter

It’s time for the ‘A-Z challenge’- a post every day in April (except Sundays) working up through the alphabet. This year I will be writing about books that I read before I started this blog, that were important to me in some way. The vast majority are ones I still have on my bookshelf today, despite a move in house and sometimes many years since I first read it.


J

J is for JK
Book: Harry Potter by JK Rowling

What is it about:
Do I really need to answer this? Who here hasn’t heard of Harry Potter?

Harry Potter is an 11 year old orphan, who lives with his aunt’s family. They have never been very nice to him, and to make matters worse strange things sometimes happen around him. Then he starts to get mysterious letters, and finds out he is a wizard. Off he goes to Hogwarts school of witchcraft and wizardry, where he has many an adventure, finds out about his past, and discovers he is part of a fight against the most powerful dark wizard of all time.

When I first read this book:
In year 5, our teacher read Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s stone book to us. The first three books were already out, but I hadn’t heard of it before.

Why it is important to me:
My friend T and I loved the book. We borrowed the rest from the library and spent several weeks spending every lunch time reading them together. Then we moved on to acting them out, and creating our own stories. We pretended it was our secret game, even though we knew everyone else knew what we were doing. We spent at least a term doing this. I had been in some plays before, and knew that playing characters different from yourself was the most fun, and was ok to do, whereas T felt a bit funny about playing male characters. So I was all the male characters, and she was all the female characters, and when there were two males (eg Harry and Draco), I would switch to being the evil, or generally the non-Harry, character. I remember one day, one of the other girls wanted to play. She was someone who could at times be a bit odd (and I don’t mean that as an insult- I was definitely thought weird almost all the time), and somehow we ended up acting out a Harry- Ginny scene, which was rather a bit awkward. (At that stage they hadn’t gotten together, but Ginny was obviously adoring and star struck).
I always remember primary school fondly- the people, the games, some good teachers and the freedom to be a kid and explore our interests…

Who should read it:
I think that the Harry Potter franchise has become so big, and well known in pop culture, that probably everyone should read if only to be up to date and know what everyone else is talking about.

The books are written for children initially, but they do get longer and darker. At age 10 I found number 2 & 4 to be a bit scary, but more to the extent that I had to read number 2 in one session to know things turned out ok rather than not being able to read it. Number 5 has a fair amount of teenage angst, and generally the latter ones have less of a happy, magical fun feeling, and more of a serious, we need to do these quests to defeat evil vibe.

12 thoughts on “Books Before the Blog: Harry Potter

  1. Julie @ Reading Life says:

    Thank you for visiting my blog. I can only encourage you to make time for Robert Jordan. His books are huge, but they go by very quickly. They are so well written (and very nearly impossible to put down)!

    But, back to your topic. Harry Potter….how I love those books!!! I was one of those people who didn’t read them because everyone kept telling me I should. Then, finally, I did and…well, all those people were right. I fell in love, even though I was an adult =)

    Jordan

    Like

    • blikachuka says:

      yeah I am not a big fan of hype- so I purposely delayed reading the last harry potter for a few months until everyone had stopped talking about it 😛

      Like

  2. shalzmojo says:

    I saw Harry Potter and I stopped! Literally!!!
    I consider myself to be a big time fan of Harry Potter and remember devouring the books at a warp speed. 3 Books were out when I came to know about them, I was probably 27 when I picked them up and then began the ardous wait for the balance books! I tell you I drove people mental with my ” When will it come out”? ” Why isnt it out yet”?
    Everyone thought I had just lost the plot 😉
    Its an evergreen read for me and today at 42 I cherish them all and re-read whenever I am in a mood for a GOOD book! 🙂

    Theme: Peregrination Chronicles (travel)
    J is for Japanese dancers in the hot sands of Pushkar #atozchallenge

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Karnika Kapoor says:

    I absolutely loved Harry Potter, while growing up it was my favourite book series. It still is, along with a lot more. There favourite books lists just keep on getting longer… Lol
    Enjoyed reading the post thanks for sharing
    Best wishes

    Like

  4. Song A Day says:

    When I saw your link I have to admit, I was a little confused. I was all, “wait, H was the other day, did they forget the letter?” Then I actually read what you had to say and it made sense, haha

    Happy A to Z, congrats on making it this far!
    J is for J Cole

    Like

  5. Sue Bursztynski (@SueBursztynski) says:

    I was an adult and a school librarian when I first discovered the Boy Who Lived. I bought my first book at the Children’s Book Week fair in Melbourne. After that, I read them as they came out and made them available in my library. As recently as late last year a student was discovering them for the first time and revelling in them. She hadn’t seen the films and refused to do so till she had read the books. I reviewed them on my blog from Prisoner of Azkaban onwards. I collected the last book from the publisher and went into a CBD food court to read it over tea and cake. Everywhere around me and in my way there people were sitting with noses in their copies. A bookshop I passed had a choir singing Hogwarts songs, and bands played. All this in celebration of a book! As a librarian, I was thrilled!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

