Books Before the Blog: Magician

It’s time for the ‘A-Z challenge’- a post every day in April (except Sundays) working up through the alphabet. This year I will be writing about books that I read before I started this blog, that were important to me in some way. The vast majority are ones I still have on my bookshelf today, despite a move in house and sometimes many years since I first read it.


M

M is for Magician
Book: Magician by Raymond E Feist

What is it about:
Pug, an orphan boy in the land of Midkemia, is apprenticed to a magician. This sets him off on the beginnings of many changes and adventures. He saves the life of a princess, and is taken into the Duke’s court. A rift to another world opens, and he is involved in wars, meets elves and dwarves, gets trapped on the other world, develops his magic…

When I first read this book:
I think, although I am not 100% sure, that I read this book in year 12. I decided to write down the books I read to see how many I read in a year. Of course this acted as a subtle incentive to read more, and I ended up reading 100 books.

Why it is important to me:
This is the first book of the Rift war saga, and I love a good fantasy series. Feist has written many books, and my sister owned a lot of them, so by reading this book, I got myself a whole lot of reading time lined up!

Who should read it:
People who love the fantasy genre, and aren’t afraid of fairly long books.

4 thoughts on “Books Before the Blog: Magician

Leave a Reply

