Books Before the Blog: Seasons of the Heart

It’s time for the ‘A-Z challenge’- a post every day in April (except Sundays) working up through the alphabet. This year I will be writing about books that I read before I started this blog, that were important to me in some way. The vast majority are ones I still have on my bookshelf today, despite a move in house and sometimes many years since I first read it.


O

O is for Oke
Book: Seasons of the Heart by Janet Oke

What is it about:
12 year old Josh lives on a farm with his Grandpa, Great Uncle (Uncle Charlie) and Aunty Lou, who is was born a long time after his parents had been and was 18. Lou has become a number of things to him- his only maternal figure, a friend, kind of a sister… One day he overhears his Grandpa and Uncle Charlie talking about finding a husband for Lou. He doesn’t want things to change, but finds he can’t stop it. He learns to see there are good things about the change, and to trust in God, family and himself.

When I first read this book:
In mid primary school.

Why it is important to me:
It is a lovely, gentle book, set in rural America in the days just before the invention of the car. There are four books in the series, which then follow Josh as he graduates, decides what to do with his life, has a love interest that doesn’t work out, finds a wife, and takes the farm into the future with new technologies.
We had the first book at home, and I asked for the others for Christmas. That day when I opened my present to find the final three books, all crisp and uniform in a row, with pretty purple and green covers- there is nothing quite like it. I am not sure, but I wonder if that might have been my first complete series.

Who should read it:
Probably best for young christians

One thought on “Books Before the Blog: Seasons of the Heart

  1. Nilanjana Bose says:

    Sounds like a great book. Anything that promotes the idea of resourcefulness and gentleness and trust over violence and cheap thrills can’t be bad for anybody.

    All the best for the rest of the challenge,

    Best wishes,
    Nilanjana.
    Madly-in-Verse

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

