Books Before the Blog: Possum Magic

It’s time for the ‘A-Z challenge’- a post every day in April (except Sundays) working up through the alphabet. This year I will be writing about books that I read before I started this blog, that were important to me in some way. The vast majority are ones I still have on my bookshelf today, despite a move in house and sometimes many years since I first read it.


P

P is for Possum
Book: Possum Magic- Meme Fox

What is it about:
Grandpa Poss makes Hush, a child possum, invisible to protect her from snakes and other predators. Hush has fun playing in ways she wouldn’t otherwise be able to, but starts to long to be visible- to be able to know what she looks like. In order to make her visible, Grandma Poss and Hush travel around Australia eating a wide variety of Australian foods to find the right ones which will reverse the magic.

When I first read this book:
Age 5 or 6

Why it is important to me:
I was quite young, but I remember we had some kind of Possum magic themes day at school. Did the author come and read to us? Sid we go see a performance?-I can’t remember exactly what happened, but I am pretty sure that we ate lamingtons! We were given some stickers with the characters on them, which I loved- the watercolour illustrations are soft and with lovely purples and blues as a theme. I had one of the stickers stuck on the inside of my sock drawer for years!

Who should read it:
Young children
People who like picture books

One thought on “Books Before the Blog: Possum Magic

Leave a Reply

