Books Before the Blog: Quiet

It’s time for the ‘A-Z challenge’- a post every day in April (except Sundays) working up through the alphabet. This year I will be writing about books that I read before I started this blog, that were important to me in some way. The vast majority are ones I still have on my bookshelf today, despite a move in house and sometimes many years since I first read it.


Q

Q is for Quiet
Book: Quiet by Susan Cain

What is it about:
One third to one half of the population are introverts; people who need time and space to do their best working and thinking, who like people but find they need to spend time alone to recharge, the listeners rather than the talkers… Susan Cain argues in this book that when we shifted from small town, agriculturally dominated societies to big city living, society started to value charisma and extroversion more. How else do you find a job, your friends and your place in a new big city? But that that has been at the expense of valuing the good things about introversion. Introverts are just as creative, may in fact be better leaders despite (or perhaps because of) not liking to be the center of attention, and often attribute their advanced skill in an area to the times they spent exploring an interest alone. Susan advocates for a world where both introverts and extroverts are accepted and allowed to work and play in the ways that work best for them.

When I first read this book:
~ 2 years ago

Why it is important to me:
I think I tend towards the introversion end of the spectrum (and it is a spectrum- no one is 100% one or the other). It helped me understand myself, and be able to explain my needs to friends at times. I think there really is this view in society that introversion= being antisocial, which is completely false.

Who should read it:
Introverts
And extroverts, to understand their friends!

4 thoughts on “Books Before the Blog: Quiet

    • blikachuka says:

      that’s what a lot of people end up doing- act more extroverted to fit into how society expects people to be. It is a handy skill have, as long as you don’t feel like you are a failure when you can’t be like that all the time

      Like

Leave a Reply

