Books Before the Blog: Rowan of Rin

It’s time for the ‘A-Z challenge’- a post every day in April (except Sundays) working up through the alphabet. This year I will be writing about books that I read before I started this blog, that were important to me in some way. The vast majority are ones I still have on my bookshelf today, despite a move in house and sometimes many years since I first read it.


R

R is for Rowan
Book: Rowan of Rin by Emily Rodda

What is it about:
Rowan is a young, frail boy in the isolated little town of Rin. The villagers value strength and courage and view Rowan, who likes the peace of looking after their domestic cow like beasts, as a disappointment. One day the stream dries up. A party of the 6 biggest and bravest are to go up the mountain to ascertain the cause. The local Witch’s prophesy demands that Rowan goes as well. No one can understand why, but in the end it is his own unique characteristics that lead to the success of the mystery.

It is the first in a series of books about Rowan’s adventures, which grow in scope- they discover more of the towns history, the other inhabitants of the land and creatures that impact on their survival.

When I first read this book:
In late primary school.

Why it is important to me:
I remember in around about year 6, our teacher would sometimes let us have the radio on while we worked. There was one song, “wasn’t me” by Shaggy, that was very catchy and got stuck in my head. (perhaps not the most appropriate song, but what can you do- most of the songs aren’t) One day as I walked up the driveway to my friend S’ house I noticed a plant that I thought looked like it would belong in Rowan’s town. I happened to have that song going round in my head at that time, and to this day, I still think of the song and book when I see the plant, and vice versa!

Who should read it:
Children (mid-late primary school)
People who like fantasy and adventure books

6 thoughts on “Books Before the Blog: Rowan of Rin

  1. messymimi says:

    The older i get, the more i like reading (or rereading) children’s books. They make a beautiful change of pace from the stress of the grown-up world. This one sounds like fun, i will see if my library has it.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

