Books Before the Blog: Lord of the Rings

It’s time for the ‘A-Z challenge’- a post every day in April (except Sundays) working up through the alphabet. This year I will be writing about books that I read before I started this blog, that were important to me in some way. The vast majority are ones I still have on my bookshelf today, despite a move in house and sometimes many years since I first read it.


T

T is for Tolkein
Book: Lord of the Rings by JRR Tolkein

What is it about:
Frodo is a hobbit, who inherits a ring that makes you invisible. Gandalf the wizard recognises it as The Ring- an immensely powerful ring the Dark Lord Sauron forged to rule over all the other powerful rings and leaders that existed. Defeated during a battle that caused the ring to eventually end up in the hobbits hands, after a few changes of owner along the way, Sauron is amassing power again and wants the ring back. It is decided the only way to avoid Sauron taking over entirely is to destroy the ring. This of course can only be done where it was forged, at the heart of Sauron’s lands. An epic journey and fight against evil ensues.

When I first read this book:
I was around 9 or 10 years old.

Why it is important to me:
I remember finding the first ending (what happens to Frodo) sad. When I felt sufficiently recovered, I read the extra bit about Aragon and Arwen’s life (and deaths) which was also sad. I think I was depressed for about 3 days after finishing it. It is the first time I can remember a book affecting me as much, although in later years I noticed that while I loved reading fantasy novels, I often felt unhappy afterwards. I realised that there is always such purpose in the books- the main characters always have something important they are trying to do or stop or reach. Real life in comparison can seem pointless and bland. In late teenage years I decided to moderate my reading- I don’t allow myself to read so many books that I no longer enjoy real life. With movies a useful technique is to watch two movies in a row- one that may be emotional or depressing first, then a happy romantic comedy or feel good documentary afterwards. With books the best technique I have found is just spacing things out.

Who should read it:
Fantasy lovers

4 thoughts on “Books Before the Blog: Lord of the Rings

    • blikachuka says:

      the films I think were good when they came out- they did a lot of innovative special effects etc, but when I watches them a few years later, there were too many times the characters went to say something dramatic that just felt silly and broke the tension for me

      Like

  1. miladyronel says:

    “The Lord of the Rings” is a long and trying book – though I’ve reread it several times just for fun 😉 I’ve found that reading a happy-ever-after type book after a fantasy novel that’s left me feeling melancholy because the characters didn’t get the ending I thought they should really helps to put things in perspective again. Happy A-to-Z-ing.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

