Books Before the Blog: Unseen Academicals

It’s time for the ‘A-Z challenge’- a post every day in April (except Sundays) working up through the alphabet. This year I will be writing about books that I read before I started this blog, that were important to me in some way. The vast majority are ones I still have on my bookshelf today, despite a move in house and sometimes many years since I first read it.


U

U is for Unseen
Book: Unseen Academicals by Terry Pratchett

What is it about:
The 37th discworld novel, Unseen Academicals follows Mustrum Ridicully, at the Unseen University for Wizards, as he sets up the University football team. In usual Terry Pratchett style, the book is full of quirky characters, tongue in cheek jokes, and imaginative takes on one of the worlds favourite past times.

When I first read this book:
Probably not long after it came out in 2009

Why it is important to me:
I had to get a Terry Pratchett book in here somehow. Odd, creative, lateral thinking- his books fit right in with our family! ๐Ÿ˜› And I think we all read them all. I loved that every year or so, another book would come out- sometimes with old favourite characters, sometimes with new ones. But regardless, I always knew I would enjoy it.

Who should read it:
Fantasy lovers and people with a quirky sense of humour

6 thoughts on “Books Before the Blog: Unseen Academicals

  1. Atherton says:

    Hello, fellow A-to-Zer! I love Discworld, and so I am really pleased to be able to say that this is the second U in a row I’ve read with a Discworld connection. One of Tasha’s U’s is Uberwald! That is here, if you haven’t seen it yet: https://tashasthinkings.blogspot.co.uk/2017/04/atoz2017-u-is-for-ursula-usurian.html
    Anyway, I liked Unseen Academicals, but I’ve only read it once, which probably means I didn’t like it as much as many other Discworld novels… maybe because I am not much of a basketball fan? Dunno.
    Melanie Atherton Allen
    http://www.athertonsmagicvapour.com

    Like

    • blikachuka says:

      I have just started reading them all from the beginning (in between other reading projects)- I can’t remember which I like best- except that I always like the witches. So we will see how I rank them in a few months ๐Ÿ™‚

      Like

Leave a Reply

