Books Before the Blog: the Witches

It’s time for the ‘A-Z challenge’- a post every day in April (except Sundays) working up through the alphabet. This year I will be writing about books that I read before I started this blog, that were important to me in some way. The vast majority are ones I still have on my bookshelf today, despite a move in house and sometimes many years since I first read it.


W

W is for Witches
Book: The Witches by Roald Dahl

What is it about:
A young boy goes to live with his Grandmother after his parents die. She tells him stories about witches, who look like normal women on the surface, but are really demons, hiding their bald heads, clawed hand and toeless feet with wigs and clothes. For some reason, witches hate children, and spend much of their time trying to kill them.
The boy has a few encounters with women he realises are witches, with the worst being when he accidentally finds himself stuck hidden in the room of the yearly gathering of England’s witches. Will he be able to get out alive? Or human?

When I first read this book:
My first memory was actually of the 1990 movie by the same title. When I was about 6 or 7, there was a really hot day, hot enough that it invoked the Australian opposite of a snow day. In Australia, if a school didn’t feel its airconditioning was good enough at keeping the classrooms cool enough on a day above 40 degrees Centigrade, the school would be closed. Of course this was sometimes decided in the middle of the day when we were already there. If your parents couldn’t come pick us up then, at the school I was at at the time, we went to the library and watched movies. They put on the Witches, which I thought was an odd choice because it was way too scary for me!

Why it is important to me:
Roald Dahl is one of those authors who you don’t have a simple opinion of. I like his imagination and quirkiness, but some of his books can be a bit harsh for me. I liked the BFG, I thought the witches were scary, the twits were nasty but kind of fun, his version of Cinderella was horrible, James and the Giant peach was odd, Boy (about his life) was interesting… His works all were memorable. I remember being inspired by a story of his, which I can’t remember now if it was in Boy, or in The Roald Dahl Treasury (a huge collection of poems, short stories and excerpts from his books that I loved to peruse as a child), about a huge snake. I made up my own story about a huge snake for a school project.

Who should read it:
Children who don’t frighten easily, or nostalgic adults.

5 thoughts on “Books Before the Blog: the Witches

  1. Cathy Kennedy says:

    Howdy ArmchairExplorer! I do not this author or book. I never was a bit in literature as a kid but I loved reading to our kids when they were young. The most memorable story with a witch and my favorite to share with them is, The Lion, The Witch, and The Wardrobe. I recently watched Disney’s 2005 movie production: The Narnia Chronicles: The Lion, The Witch, and The Wardrobe and it was really good. I enjoyed it more than I thought I would. Thanks for visiting and happy a2zing!

    Art Sketching Through the Alphabet “W” (Walking Dead & Waves).

    Like

  2. Wolf of Words says:

    I’m a huge fan of Roald Dahl! The Witches scared the crap out of me when I was little but in the best ways. In fact, my mother just gifted me a new copy randomly for my birthday. The movie was also sufficiently creepy. Roald Dahl is an amazing author and his exploits in The Irregulars are also legendary. Yeah, he incorporated the darkness a lot in his books but most of them end with the protagonist overcoming that darkness or leaving it in their wake. He was a father and after a crappy childhood, he wanted to protect his own children. And yes, his Cinderella is crazy. (Checking in from the A to Z Challenge. We’re almost there!)

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

