Books Before the Blog: You Are Special

It’s time for the ‘A-Z challenge’- a post every day in April (except Sundays) working up through the alphabet. This year I will be writing about books that I read before I started this blog, that were important to me in some way. The vast majority are ones I still have on my bookshelf today, despite a move in house and sometimes many years since I first read it.


Y

Y is for You
Book: You are special- by Max Lucado

What is it about:
Puchinello is a little wooden man, from the race of Wemmicks. The Wemmicks have a tradition of giving each other either gold star stickers or black do stickers depending on whether they think the other person is beautiful, talented, or doing something really good. Puchinello only ever gets black dots and is feeling sad. But then one day he meets the woodcarver, and finds out that the woodcarver made him to be as he is, and that he thinks he is special how he is. The other Wemmicks’ opinion is not the be all and end all.

When I first read this book:
Probably some time in primary school.

Why it is important to me:
The message that your worth is not in other people’s approval- that we are all special and have worth regardless of if we are pretty or good at things- is a really important message that I think all kids need to hear. Especially with the over sexualisation and objectification of women in the media.

Who should read it:
Young children, or lovers of picture books.
Young Christians (the woodmaker is an analogy for the creator)

Leave a Reply

