Books Before the Blog: Pirate Pete and the Zylonites

It’s time for the ‘A-Z challenge’- a post every day in April (except Sundays) working up through the alphabet. This year I will be writing about books that I read before I started this blog, that were important to me in some way. The vast majority are ones I still have on my bookshelf today, despite a move in house and sometimes many years since I first read it.


Z

Z is for Zylonite
Book: Pirate Pete and the Zylonites by Wendy Milotti

What is it about:
This is a picture book about Pirate Pete, who hid his gold on an unmapped island, which unbeknownst to him was inhabited by alien looking creatures in all different colours, who had eyes on stalks like snails. He came across them when he went to get his gold back, and they thought it funny that he wanted the odd yellow stones they had no use for, rather than the amazing box they came in.

When I first read this book:
I am not sure. The first time I remember reading it was later primary school, but a few years before that I had been drawing an alien that looked very much like them.

Why it is important to me:
There was a time in primary school when my friend S and I spent months talking about, drawing and creating stories around our past lives as aliens from a different solar system. You see, there had been a war on, and our spaceships got damaged and crash landed on earth. In order to survive, we somehow reincarnated/turned into human babies, and only started remembering out previous life after 10 or so years. In my past life I was called Blikachuka, which you may notice I still use today- for my non work email, for this blog, for some chat rooms etc. It really is quite useful having a nonsense nickname that noone else has to use for a username- none of this Sarah00125_* business!
When I (re)read Pirate Pete, I realised that I drew Blikachuka as looking very similar to the Zylonites, so I suspect I had read it as a young child, and the image was in my subconscious somewhere.

Who should read it:
Young children, or lovers of picture books.

4 thoughts on “Books Before the Blog: Pirate Pete and the Zylonites

Leave a Reply

