MMMM: Mindfulness

MMMM: Mindfulness, Meditation and Mental health May- is a month of quotes, books and (sometimes unexpected) resources to reflect on, to help have a happier, more mindful life.
Regular book reviews will continue on Fridays.


 

Quote of the Day:

“Don’t believe everything you think. Thoughts are just that – thoughts.”
― Allan Lokos, Pocket Peace: Effective Practices for Enlightened Living

 


 

Book of the Day:

The Happiness Trap by Dr Russ Harris

The Happiness trap is a great book. It teaches the principles of ACT (acceptance commitment therapy) in a simple, logical, down to earth way. It is an easy read, and it just makes sense.

“Instead of teaching new techniques to pursue happiness, ACT teaches ways to undermine struggle, avoidance, and loss of the moment”
ACT is a branch of psychology which teaches acceptance, mindfulness and mental techniques which help you not get so caught up in negative thoughts and emotions.
Along with Sarah Edelman’s book on CBT, this is one of the books I recommend to people most often.

 

Question of the Day:

For each of your 5 senses, how many different things can you sense?

(for example,for touch: I feel the pressure of my knee being hyperextended, the cold air on my lower legs, the muscle in the back of my hand which is working as I type, the air going in and out my nostrils, the fabric of my jumper, the place my ankles cross each other and a slight itch on my shoulder)

 

Leave a Reply

