MMMM: Seeking happiness

MMMM: Mindfulness, Meditation and Mental health May- is a month of quotes, books and (sometimes unexpected) resources to reflect on, to help have a happier, more mindful life.

Regular book reviews will continue on Fridays.


 

Quote of the day:

“Seeking is endless. It never comes to a state of rest; it never ceases.”
― Sharon Salzberg, Lovingkindness: The Revolutionary Art of Happiness


 

Thought of the day:

If you came across a magic lamp, and were granted 3 wishes by a genie, what would you wish for?

Someone once did a study based on this question, and found that as expected there were a range of answers, with the most common being related to money, achievement or fame/status. A few people thought to answer that they would wish for happiness- because isn’t that the point of all the other things we wish for?

But I was thinking about this and thought, that if I could wish for happiness, or take a medication that made me happy all the time, regardless of what was happening in my life, would I want to? There is a part of me that wants to work for my happiness- that feels it will be worth more to me if I had to work out how to make my self happy, and take steps to get there, rather than just having it given to me.

Sometimes people feel they need to earn happiness- that they aren’t worthy of it otherwise. This belief is something that is worth doing some psychology to overcome, because everyone deserves happiness.

But I do think that there is something deeper and more profound about a life that does have sadness and other emotions in it, and about happiness that found or created in a way that is unique to that person.

Would you wish for happiness, or would you rather work to find it?

Leave a Reply

