MMMM: darkness

MMMM: Mindfulness, Meditation and Mental health May- is a month of quotes, books and (sometimes unexpected) resources to reflect on, to help have a happier, more mindful life.

Regular book reviews will continue on Fridays.


Quote of the day:

“I am a forest, and a night of dark trees: but he who is not afraid of my darkness, will find banks full of roses under my cypresses.”
― Friedrich Nietzsche, Thus Spoke Zarathustra


Thoughts:

Are you afraid of the dark? It’s a natural thing to be afraid of the dark, I am told, but I am not, and I don’t remember ever having been. For me, the darkness is a time of stars and camp-fires, of cooling down after a hot day, of peacefulness and quiet. Night hikes are the most relaxing, and chats with friends the deepest when gazing up at a night sky. I love the darkness.

But the darkness in myself? Not so much.

We can often fear the darkness in ourselves, and suppress it. Pretend it isn’t there. But to be whole, and strong, and able to move forward unhindered by ourselves, we need to explore all aspects of ourselves, including the dark side. Are we brave enough?

 


 “everybody’s got a darkside,
can you love me, can you love mine?
nobody’s picture perfect
but we’re worth it”

I love this song- just watch it!

Leave a Reply

