Manuscript Found in Accra

Paulo Coelho

Around the world: Brazil


I have read a couple books by Paulo Coelho before, and I love his writing style- it is somewhat poetic, and treats all subject matters with thought and gentleness. I grabbed this book from the library on the spur of the moment- it was on a table near the entryway literally saying ‘pick me’.

When I first saw that it was set up much like Kahlil Gibran’s The Prophet, I was a bit disappointed- I hadn’t particularly got into that book. I read the first few chapters nonchalantly, and then came back to it a week or so later. The second time, it seemed to just align with what was going on in my life. Every few pages there was a quote or story that was profound, or that related to my life currently, or was thought provoking. There are too many to put here- but here are a few:

Beauty exists not in sameness but in difference… The irregularity of the mountain peaks that surround us is what makes them so imposing. If we tried to make them all the same, they would o longer command our respect. It is the imperfect that astonishes and attracts us.

Noone can go back, but everyone can go forward. And tomorrow, when the sun rises, all you have to say to yourself is: I am going to think of this day as the first day of my life.I will look on the members of my family with surprise and amazement, glad to discover they are by my side, silently sharing that much talked about but little understood thing called love… I will look at everything and everyone as if for the first time, especially the small things that I have grown used to, quite forgetting the magic surrounding them.

I will have the courage to open the door to the sanctuary that leads to my soul.

Seek friends and allies among people wjo believe in what they are doing and in who they are… Seek out those who think differently from you and whom you will never be able to convince that you are right. Because friendship is one of the many faces of Love, and Love s not swayed by opinions; Love accepts its companion unconditionally and allows each to grow in his or her own way.

Do I want success at any price or do I want to be a successful person because I manage to fill my days with Love

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

